No products in the cart.

BRAHMS // The two Cello Sonatas

Geoffroy Couteau, Raphaël Perraud,

The two sonatas for cello and piano constitute works of great significance in Brahms’s output.


- +


Powerfully lyrical, a realm of pure interiority, they provide a glimpse of his youthful period as well as his high maturityThese summits of chamber music, with their protean humanity, call for complementarity and osmosis on the part of their interpreters. Raphaël Perraud and Geoffroy Couteau establish a skilfully matured balance. Gentleness and impetuosity, melancholy and frenzy, meditation and elation are combined in inflections of eloquent spontaneity. The fantastical aspect of this epic combat between cello and piano never ceases to gain in profundity and lyricism in the course of their performances.


Johannes BRAHMS (1833-1897)

Cello Sonata no.1 in E minor, op.38


  • Allegro non troppo 14’01
  • Allegretto quasi menuetto 5’20
  • Allegro – Più presto 6’14


Cello Sonata no.2 in F major, op.99


  • Allegro vivace 8’46
  • Adagio affettuoso 5’55
  • Allegro passionato 7’00
  • Allegro molto 4’14


Raphaël Perraud, cello

Already the winner of several international competitions, Raphaël Perraud won the Prague Spring Competition in 1994 as well as three special prizes: the prize for the interpretation of the contemporary work, the prize of the Prague Spring Foundation and the gift of a cello. In the same year, Marek Janowski recruited him as second principal cello of the Orchestre Philharmonique de Radio France.

Since then, he has performed as a soloist with prestigious orchestras, including the Orchestre National de France, the Orchestre Symphonique de Mulhouse, the Orchestre de Chambre de Toulouse and the Prague Radio Symphony Orchestra.

An excellent chamber musician, he participates in numerous festivals with such artists as Nicolas Dautricourt, Lise Berthaud, Svetlin Roussev, Deborah Nemtanu, Régis Pasquier, Éric Le Sage, Elena Rozanova, Daishin Kashimoto and Georges Pludermacher.

In 2005, under the principal conductorship of Kurt Masur, he was appointed principal cello of the Orchestre National de France.

Customer service

Don’t hesitate to contact us for all inquiries


Free gift

For all orders over 50 €


100% secure payments / Secure SSL protocol


Fast delivery

Shipment within 24/48 hrs from receipt by tracked post

You may also like…

Newsletter La Dolce Volta

Pour les amoureux de la musique classique, recevez nos dernières créations et profitez d'offres exclusives (un à deux envois par mois)