No products in the cart.

BEETHOVEN // Complete String Quartets

Talich Quartet,

“A quartet is a conversation among four educated equals”_Goethe

35,00  31,50 

Estimated delivery by 27/10/2021

- +


With the 16 string quartets and the final Grande Fugue, Beethoven revolutionized this demanding format, to which he devoted himself from the last years of the 18th Century up to his death. Listening to these works one by one is to follow the composer’s evolution step by step as their language becomes ever more powerful and complex.

What do we experience today when we listen to Beethoven quartets?

We of course appreciate them based on such or such a school, or on traditional interpretations like those by the Talich.
Yet the sheer boldness of the cycle”s composition still has listeners enthralled nearly two centuries after it was written. It’s not as much the level of concentration required, making any kind of “easy listening” moot, as it is its timeless, vital energy that is so compelling for listeners today.

QUARTETS OP.18 N°3, 1 & 2
QUARTETS OP.18 N° 5, 4 & 6
QUARTETS OP.133, OP.95 & OP.127
QUARTETS OP.59 N°1 & OP.74
QUARTETS OP.59 N°2, OP.130
QUARTETS OP.59 N°3 & OP.131
QUARTETS OP.132 & OP.135
  • 15th Quartet in A minor op. 132 / Allegro sostenuto – Allegro 9’06
  • 15th Quartet in A minor op. 132 / Allegro ma non troppo 8’53
  • 15th Quartet in A minor op. 132 / Molto adagio 16’47
  • 15th Quartet in A minor op. 132 / Alla marcia, assai vivace 2’16
  • 15th Quartet in A minor op. 132 / Allegro appassionato 6’53
  • 16th Quartet in F major op. 135 / Allegretto 6’22
  • 16th Quartet in F major op. 135 / Vivace 3’23
  • 16th Quartet in F major op. 135 / Lento assai, cantate e tranquillo 6’54
  • 16th Quartet in F major op. 135 / Grave, ma non troppo tratto – Allegro 6’38








The Talich Quartet’s Beethoven cycle must be numbered among the finest currently available. These are eminently civilised performances with refinement, excellent ensemble and warmth of tone to commend them.


The Talich subordinate flashy virtuosity to the music’s meaning; they have a beautifully blended tone, with sonorities built up from the bottom; rythms are flowing and attacks are firm without being aggressive. The ensemble’s use of color for expressive effect heightens the eloquence of the late quartets, which are the highlights of the set thanks to the Talich’s searching interpretations and stylistic integrity.


The Talich Quartet is an armchair of a quartet… not strident, not terribly aggressive, but also with enough spring in the cushions to keep a certain bounce… neither homogenized nor flaccid in their sound. Their Mendelssohn remains top-of-the-line (although the Mandelring Quartet seems to be close on their heels). Their Mozart is old-world gorgeous (see Best of 2011). Much the same of what is true for their Mozart is true for their Beethoven, although the competition in Beethoven seems greater: There’s the Gewandhaus Quartet in roughly the same category… the Végh Quartet—albeit in considerably inferior sound (and out of print)—offers even more of that yesteryear-glow. The Talich hasn’t the X-ray quality of the Hagen’s, and the modern accuracy, energy, and clearly defined edges the Takács and Pražák Quartets bring to the table. In that sense the Talich are not a must-have set… but they are a lovely-to-have set and available again, thanks to La Dolce Volta, who have access to the entire Caliope catalog.

In its forty-five year history, the Talich Quartet, which performs all over the world, has included a number of prestigious Czech musicians.

Talich. The very name conjures up the banks of the Moldau, much loved by Smetana and the residents of Prague. Jan Talich, who founded the quartet in 1964, is the nephew of Vaclav Talich, who conducted the Czech Philharmonic orchestra between 1919 and 1939, achieving giddy heights even before the baton was handed over to Karel Ančerl.
In 1970, Jan Talich handed over the reins to the great violinist Petr Messiereur. Alongside the founder on the viola, the quartet comprised Petr Messiereur and Jan Kvapil on violins and Evzen Rattay on the cello. With this new line-up, the ensemble achieved great success with a national, international and contemporary repertoire.
The success of the first performance given in Paris in 1975 at the invitation of the AMc led to its first invitation to play in the United States in 1976, and an award from the Charles Cros Academy in 1977 for its mythical interpretation of Antonin Dvořàk’s American quartet.

Its back catalogue includes the complete sets of Mozart and Beethoven’s string quartets, Mozart’s string quintets and string quartets by others including Smetana and Janáček.

Taking on the legendary name, the new generation Talich Quartet has been in existence since 1997, when it was given renewed impetus by Jan Talich Jr. It gives concerts worldwide and is still considered to be one of the best contemporary quartets.

The musical style, approach and philosophy of the Talich Quartet are revealed in its international award-winning back catalogue”.

Customer service

Don’t hesitate to contact us for all inquiries


Free gift

For all orders over 50 €


100% secure payments / Secure SSL protocol


Fast delivery

Shipment within 24/48 hrs from receipt by tracked post

Newsletter La Dolce Volta

Pour les amoureux de la musique classique, recevez nos dernières créations et profitez d'offres exclusives (un à deux envois par mois)