Background Image
Previous Page  15 / 40 Next Page
Show Menu
Previous Page 15 / 40 Next Page
Page Background



In eight days he composed this quartet in praise of woman and love, thus opposing

the moral sanction raised by Tolstoy himself against the adulterous woman in his

novel. In his works Janáček often shows compassion for women who are ridiculed

or humiliated. Here, to bring out the raw passions that are present in the novel he

uses the art of contrast and harmonic tension in gripping and anguished phrases.

Through the voice of each instrument, his writing follows closely the murmurs

and complaints, violence and terror experienced by the characters, thus creating

a wordless drama.

In its structure theStringQuartet,‘TheKreutzer Sonata’, follows thedifferent stages

in the drama of Tolstoy’s work. The first movement corresponds to the exposition

of the story; Janáček concentrates on depicting the heroine, pure and passionate,

dissatisfied with her married life. In the second movement she meets the young

violinist, the future seducer, an encounter that destabilises the melody and the

rhythm. The third movement portrays the crisis and contrasts the gentleness of

the woman’s love with the fury of her husband’s jealousy. Finally, in the fourth

movement the drama is brought to a tragic end; terrible agitated passages depict

the paroxysm of the woman’s suffering; she finds redemption in the peace of the

final melodic passage.