No products in the cart.

Trio Sōra

© Lyodoh Kaneko

Trio Sōra

Thinking big!

 

‘A bird that sings as it takes flight’ – or to put it more succinctly: Sōra! Native American by origin, but also meaning ‘sky’ in Japanese, this name that travels the world and sings in every language, this poetic name that also makes us think of ‘sisters’ (sorority, from Latin soror), is a perfect fit for a trio of young women founded in 2015. It was in 2022 that the current line-up was born, when Fanny Fheodoroff, a Viennese violinist who graduated from The Juilliard School, joined pianist Pauline Chenais and cellist Angèle Legasa, who have been friends with shared affinities ever since the Paris Conservatoire (CNSM). They resolutely turned their eyes and their musical dreams in the same direction: their trio, and nothing else. This was far from being the easy option, but for them a trio, like a string quartet, is worth spending a lifetime on! So they plunged into the adventure, devoting themselves to it, giving themselves the means of success right from the start, driven by an extraordinary strength and energy.

They worked prodigiously, every week, every day, for as long as possible – you don’t do things by halves when you want to make a name for yourself! In the meantime, the trio travelled the length and breadth of Europe, taking part in a string of academies and competitions and winning fourteen prizes and awards in just five years. But that was just the beginning! They needed to think big and look far ahead.

One of the decisive encounters along the way was with Mathieu Herzog, who became their mentor and guardian angel. The audacity and talent of these three artists appealed to the violist-turned-conductor, who took them under his exclusive wing. He knew they were capable of moving mountains, of ignoring obstacles, of staying the course . . . And they did! He encouraged them to go all the way, opening up perspectives, guiding them in musical and human terms, and helping them complete the construction of their trio, from A to Z. The search for a common sound and a feeling for harmonies, the honing of timbre and articulation – Mathieu Herzog insists on this – are essential, but it’s also necessary to take an interest in the other aspects of the profession, such as stage presentation and concert dress.

Thinking big . . . a motto that the musicians never cease to put into practice. Their motto from very beginning. A first album? If they decided to open the door to the recording world, they would choose the biggest one: Beethoven. And because they have an appetite for risk and don’t do things by halves, they opted for his complete trios. The set was released in 2020, and was crowned with the highest distinctions – a masterstroke! Continuing to think big . . . Two years later, with a tidy grant in their pockets, they commissioned the Canadian composer Kelly-Marie Murphy to write, not a ‘modest’ trio, but a triple concerto, which they premiered with the Orchestre Philharmonique de Radio France conducted by Mikko Franck. Moving forward, still thinking big . . . a new recording project came into existence: the Brahms trios. All of them!

At the Fondation Singer-Polignac, where they are artists in residence, they meet up to work for hours on end. Keeping their distance from conventional interpretations, always ready to turn their backs on preconceptions, they use this shared time to search for the meaning of a phrasing, a timbre, an articulation, attentive to the architecture of the work nurtured by the blend of energy and tenderness that they possess between them. Their musical propositions mirror the sparkling performances they give on the concert platform: luminous, lively, invigorated. That’s the hallmark of their trio: to refresh the colours of the great works of the repertory, is it not to give them a new lease of life?

Newsletter La Dolce Volta

Pour les amoureux de la musique classique, recevez nos dernières créations et profitez d'offres exclusives (un à deux envois par mois)
close-link

Aucun produit dans le panier.

Trio Sōra

© Lyodoh Kaneko

Trio Sōra

Voir grand !

 

« Oiseau qui chante en prenant son envol »… soit en plus court : Sōra ! D’origine amérindienne, mais aussi « ciel » en japonais, ce nom qui fait le tour du monde et qui chante dans toutes les langues, ce nom poétique qui sonne aussi comme sœurs, va comme un gant à ce trio féminin fondé en 2015. Fanny Fheodoroff, violoniste viennoise passée par la Juilliard School, a depuis 2022 rejoint Pauline Chenais, la pianiste et Angèle Legasa, la violoncelliste, liées d’amitié et d’affinités depuis le CNSM de Paris. Déterminées, elles tournent leurs regards et leurs rêves musicaux dans la même direction : leur trio, et rien d’autre. Il n’est pas la voie de la facilité, mais pour elles le trio, comme le quatuor, mérite bien une vie ! Alors elles se jettent dans l’aventure, s’y consacrent, s’en donnant d’emblée les moyens, animées d’une force et d’une énergie hors du commun.

Elles travaillent énormément, toutes les semaines, tous les jours, le plus de temps possible, on ne fait pas les choses à moitié lorsqu’on veut imposer son identité ! Entretemps le trio a parcouru l’Europe où il a enchaîné les académies, les concours, et récolté quatorze prix et récompenses en seulement cinq ans. Ce n’est qu’un début ! Il leur faut voir grand et loin.

Sur leur route, l’une de leurs rencontres est déterminante, celle de Mathieu Herzog qui devient leur mentor, leur ange gardien. L’audace et le talent de ses trois artistes plaisent à l’altiste devenu chef d’orchestre qui les prend sous son aile exclusive. Il les sait capables de bouger les montagnes, de faire fi des obstacles, de tenir le cap… Elles le feront ! Il les encourage à aller au bout de leur démarche, leur ouvre des perspectives, les guide musicalement et humainement, les aide à parachever la construction de leur trio, de A à Z. La recherche du son commun, du sens des harmonies, le travail du timbre et de l’articulation – Mathieu Herzog insiste là-dessus – sont essentiels, mais il faut aussi s’intéresser aux autres aspects du métier, comme la présentation sur scène, les tenues de concert.

Voir en grand…Une devise que les musiciennes ne cessent de mettre en œuvre. Leur devise depuis le départ. Un premier album ? Quitte à franchir la porte du monde discographique, choisir la plus grande : ce sera avec Beethoven. Et parce qu’elles ont le goût du risque et qu’elles ignorent la demi-mesure, ce sera avec l’intégrale de ses trios. En 2020 paraît l’album : le voici couronné des plus hautes distinctions, un coup de maître ! Continuer de voir en grand… Deux ans plus tard, une rondelette bourse en poche, elles passent commande à la compositrice canadienne Kelly-Marie Murphy, non pas d’un « modeste » trio, mais d’un triple concerto, qu’elles créent avec l’Orchestre Philharmonique de Radio France sous la direction de Mikko Franck. Aller de l’avant, encore et toujours voir en grand… un nouveau projet discographique voit le jour : les trios de Brahms. Tous !

À la Fondation Singer-Polignac où elles sont en résidence, elles se retrouvent pour travailler des heures durant. Loin des interprétations convenues, tournant volontiers le dos aux idées reçues, elles partagent ce temps à la recherche du sens d’un phrasé, d’un timbre, d’une respiration, attentives à l’architecture de l’œuvre nourrie de cet alliage d’énergie et de tendresse qu’elles ont entre elles. Leur proposition est à leur image lorsqu’elles rayonnent sur scène : lumineuse, vivante, revigorée. La signature de leur trio est là : raviver les couleurs des grandes œuvres du répertoire, ne serait-ce pas, justement, leur donner un nouvel envol ?

Newsletter La Dolce Volta

Pour les amoureux de la musique classique, recevez nos dernières créations et profitez d'offres exclusives (un à deux envois par mois)
close-link