No products in the cart.

DEBUSSY, RAVEL // String Quartets

Talich Quartet,

Certain things are immutable in art and destined to endure over time—due either to the indestructible nature of their foundations or their perpetual renewal. When they express something primal, essential and stunningly beautiful, they are enriched by the highly qualified and talented individuals who serve them and uphold them. And when these individuals have given all they can, having devoted themselves fully to beauty, others come along to bear this centennial flame high so that it continues to blaze eternally.

10,00  9,00 

Estimated delivery by 27/10/2021

- +


The Talich Quartet was founded in 1964 by Jan Talich, nephew of the great Vaclav Talich, master of the Czech Philharmonic Orchestra. Jan Talich, a student at the Prague Conservatory, presided over the ensemble with Petr Messiereur, Jan Kvapil and Evzen Rattay. In 1997, Jan Talich Junior, the son of Jan Talich and a violinist like his father, took over the direction of the quartet, which gradually began to feature younger members: Roman Patočka, Vladimir Bukač and Petr Prause, respectively violin, viola and cello. the second generation of the Talich Quartet is like a pagan slav family who are descendents of a remote ancestor; they are subjects of the gods, yet all are equal, working together to carry on the work of their predecessors so that a tradition flourishes and endures. the talich Quartet has a philosophy and an approach to music that is truly unique, a signature style that is instantly recognizable with its lightness, spontaneity and unpredictability.

Claude Debussy // Quatuor à cordes in G minor, op. 10


  •  Animé et très décidé 6’12
  • Assez vif et bien rythmé 3’53
  • Andantino, doucement expressif 7’54
  • Très modéré 7’12


Maurice RAVEL // Quatuor à cordes in F major

  • Allegro moderato 7’51
  • Assez vif. Très rythmé 6’24
  • Très lent 8’13
  • Vif et agité 4’34



In its forty-five year history, the Talich Quartet, which performs all over the world, has included a number of prestigious Czech musicians.

Talich. The very name conjures up the banks of the Moldau, much loved by Smetana and the residents of Prague. Jan Talich, who founded the quartet in 1964, is the nephew of Vaclav Talich, who conducted the Czech Philharmonic orchestra between 1919 and 1939, achieving giddy heights even before the baton was handed over to Karel Ančerl.
In 1970, Jan Talich handed over the reins to the great violinist Petr Messiereur. Alongside the founder on the viola, the quartet comprised Petr Messiereur and Jan Kvapil on violins and Evzen Rattay on the cello. With this new line-up, the ensemble achieved great success with a national, international and contemporary repertoire.
The success of the first performance given in Paris in 1975 at the invitation of the AMc led to its first invitation to play in the United States in 1976, and an award from the Charles Cros Academy in 1977 for its mythical interpretation of Antonin Dvořàk’s American quartet.

Its back catalogue includes the complete sets of Mozart and Beethoven’s string quartets, Mozart’s string quintets and string quartets by others including Smetana and Janáček.

Taking on the legendary name, the new generation Talich Quartet has been in existence since 1997, when it was given renewed impetus by Jan Talich Jr. It gives concerts worldwide and is still considered to be one of the best contemporary quartets.

The musical style, approach and philosophy of the Talich Quartet are revealed in its international award-winning back catalogue”.

Customer service

Don’t hesitate to contact us for all inquiries


Free gift

For all orders over 50 €


100% secure payments / Secure SSL protocol


Fast delivery

Shipment within 24/48 hrs from receipt by tracked post

Newsletter La Dolce Volta

Pour les amoureux de la musique classique, recevez nos dernières créations et profitez d'offres exclusives (un à deux envois par mois)