Vanessa Wagner / LISZT, PÄRT

Performing and recording the Harmonies poétiques et religieuses is a real initiatory journey, which runs the gamut from extreme austerity to supreme ecstasy. I played these pieces a fair number of times before I recorded them. It’s music that requires a long period of maturation, because, over and above virtuosity, it demands an inner development on the part of the interpreter, an almost philosophical voyage of introspection.

Buy on e-store
Book

Liszt’s cycle of Harmonies poétiques et religieuses (Poetic and Religious Harmonies), inspired by Lamartine, juxtaposes angelic pieces, mystical atmospheres and powerful frescoes such as Funérailles and Bénédiction de Dieu dans la solitude. If the Transcendental Studies present singular challenges to the instrumentalist, if the Années de pèlerinage are inspired by the impressions left by the composer’s travels, the books he had read, the works of art he had seen, the Harmonies poétiques et religieuses are the mystical face of Franz Liszt’s pianistic output. Visions mournful (Pensée des morts) or celestial (Cantique d’amour), darkly heroic epics (Funérailles), noble lamentations (Andante Lagrimoso): here is Liszt in all his diversity. Outstanding even in this company is Bénédiction de Dieu dans la solitude, one of the composer’s finest pieces, a fresco of lofty spirituality.

The pianist Vanessa Wagner has chosen to interpolate three pieces by the Estonian composer Arvo Pärt in these excerpts from the Harmonies poétiques et religieuses. They are characterised by a decanted musical style, deeply religious in its inspiration, rooted in Gregorian chant and early polyphony.

This coupling is a world premiere and it is surprising that no one has yet thought of it, so close are the styles of the two composers. The atmosphere of the disc will be deeply mystical, seeking to suspend the musical gesture.

Création de site web Création de site internet

Vanessa Wagner / Liszt, Pärt

Vanessa Wagner

Enregistrer ces pièces des Harmonies poétiques et religieuses est un veritable parcours initiatique. Il va de l’extrême dépouillement à la plus grande extase. Vanessa Wagner a joué ces pièces un grand nombre de fois avant de les enregistrer. C’est une musique qui demande un grand temps de maturation parce qu’au-delà de la virtuosité, elle exige de l’interprète un cheminement intérieur. C’est à un voyage quasiment philosophique et introspectif qu’elle nous invite.

Acheter sur l'e-store
Livret

Le cycle lisztien des Harmonies poétiques et religieuses, inspiré de Lamartine, juxtapose les pièces angéliques, les ambiances mystiques et les fresques puissantes, telles Funérailles et Bénédiction de Dieu dans la solitude. Si les Études d’exécution transcendante offrent des défis singuliers à l’instrumentiste, si les Années de pèlerinage s’inspirent des impressions laissées par des voyages, des lectures, des œuvres d’art, les Harmonies poétiques et religieuses sont la part mystique de l’œuvre pianistique de Franz Liszt. Visions lugubres (Pensée des morts) ou célestes (Cantique d’amour), épopée sombrement héroïque (Funérailles), noble déploration (Andante Lagrimoso) : voilà Liszt dans toute sa diversité. En son sein se distingue Bénédiction de Dieu dans la solitude, une des plus grandes pièces de son auteur, fresque d’une haute spiritualité.

La pianiste Vanessa Wagner a choisi d’intercaler 3 pièces du compositeur estonien Arvo Pärt dans les extraits des Harmonies poétiques et religieuses. Elles se caractérisent par une musique épurée, d’inspiration profondément religieuse du chant grégorien et de la polyphonie ancienne.

Ce couplage est réalisé en première mondiale et il est surprenant que personne n’y ait encore songé tant l’écriture des deux compositeurs est proche. L’ambiance du disque est profondément mystique avec une recherche du geste musical en suspension.

 

Création de site web Création de site internet