CHOPIN / Preludes, Funeral March

Jean-Philippe Collard

Jean-Philippe Collard returns to Chopin after 33 years of silence.

It has taken him decades to feel comfortable with the composer. Today he is confident in his approach to this repertory and has no qualms about his interpretative options. Chopin’s music gives him two very powerful impressions. First of all, it interprets the sensation of being in love, an aspect he finds fascinating. Moreover, his language speeds up the process of communication between artist and audience.

 

He sees this disc as a break, a renewal. All his previous records were released on EMI. Today he has changed labels, repertory, sound engineer … These developments enable him to escape a certain routine, to put himself on the line.


There are countless benchmark versions in this repertory, but the French pianist has not sought to measure himself against them, and his approach to the composer is honest and totally sincere. Chopin represents a genuine challenge, for which Jean-Philippe Collard has identified a style that is his alone.

Création de site web Création de site internet

Jean-Philippe Collard / CHOPIN / Préludes, Marche funèbre

Jean-Philippe Collard

Après ses ValsesBallades et sa Sonate n°3, Jean-Philippe Collard revient à Chopin.

Acheter sur l'e-store
Livret

Cela lui a pris des décennies avant de se sentir à l’aise avec ce compositeur. Aujourd’hui, il est confiant dans sa manière d’aborder ce répertoire et n’a plus d’états d’âme par rapport à ses partis pris d’interprétation. La musique de Chopin lui procure deux sentiments très forts. On y retrouve d’une part une lecture du sentiment amoureux. Cet aspect le passionne. Par ailleurs, son langage accélère le processus de communication entre l’artiste et le public.

Ce disque marque une rupture, un renouveau. Tous ses précédents enregistrements sont sortis chez EMI. Aujourd’hui, il change de label, de répertoire, d’ingénieur du son… Ces évolutions lui permettent de se mettre en danger.

Dans ce répertoire, on ne compte plus les versions de référence, mais l’artiste n’a pas cherché à se mesurer à cela et sa manière d’aborder ce compositeur est intègre, totalement sincère. Chopin représente un véritable défi mais Jean-Philippe Collard a identifié un style qui lui est propre.

Création de site web Création de site internet