Cédric Pescia / BACH / The Well-Tempered Clavier

The forty-two-year-old Swiss pianist Cédric Pescia magnifies Johann Sebastian Bach’s Well-Tempered Clavier. He demonstrates by setting out in a few moments an ‘acoustic theatre’. Here is the blinding evidence of a great performer.

 

Robert Schumann, who revered Johann Sebastian Bach, recommended that young pianists should make the two books of The Well-Tempered Clavier their ‘daily bread’. The collection is indeed familiar to many from an early age, but most performers (pianists, harpsichordists and even organists) only give it in concert and record it after ‘moulding’ that bread every day in the secrecy of their practice rooms.

Musicians tackle The Well-Tempered Clavier in the same way as actors play Shakespeare’s Lear or singers perform Schubert’s Winterreise, once they have reached the appropriate age. The cycle is testing for the fingers, but perhaps even more so for the brain: these stylistically differentiated preludes and complex fugues must be given an overall coherence that does not diminish the singularity of their parts. Each component of The Well-Tempered Clavier can be one thing and its opposite.

Création de site web Création de site internet

Cédric Pescia, JS. BACH – Le Clavier bien tempéré

Cédric Pescia

À 42 ans, le pianiste suisse Cédric Pescia magnifie le Clavier bien tempéré de Jean-Sébastien Bach. Il  y installe en quelques instants un « théâtre acoustique ». Voici l’aveuglante évidence d’un grand interprète.

Robert Schumann, qui révérait Jean-Sébastien Bach, préconisait que les jeunes pianistes fissent des deux Livres du Clavier bien tempéré leur « pain quotidien ». Le recueil est en effet familier à beaucoup dès le plus jeune âge, mais la plupart des interprètes (pianistes, clavecinistes et même les organistes) ne le donnent en concert et ne l’enregistrent qu’après l’avoir pétri chaque jour et en « secret ».

On aborde le Clavier bien tempéré comme les acteurs incarnent le Roi Lear de Shakespeare ou les chanteurs Le Voyage d’hiver de Schubert, une fois l’âge venu. Eprouvant pour les doigts, le cycle l’est peut-être plus encore pour le cerveau : il faut conférer à ces préludes stylistiquement si différenciés et à ces fugues complexes une cohérence générale qui n’amoindrisse pas la singularité de leurs parties. Chaque maillon du Clavier bien tempéré peut être une chose et son inverse.

Création de site web Création de site internet